STEVE Bateman won his sixth Brean Club Championship and Suzanne Hatfield won her first Ladies Championship after a gruelling weekend of golf.

The previous five wins for Bateman have been much more straightforward than this one.

On the second day when scores soared on the hard bouncy fast running course, it was Bateman who just hung on to win as the closing hole caused mayhem amongst the leaders.

The normally benign straight away 400 yard par four 18th most definitely decided the outcome of the Championship.

First to trip up on it was defending Champion Dan Broom as he went out of bounds twice with adrenaline fuelled approaches through the green ending his chances.

Then came the final group and it all looked to be between Steve Bateman and round one leader Stuart Wills who were locked together as they teed off the final hole.

Steve Mason and Russell Shaw had posted totals of 159 but this really looked to be a few too many to take victory. What happened next was mayhem as mishit shots, lost balls and almost anything else you can imagine ensued culminating with Bateman making a triple bogey seven, to win by one from Mason and Shaw.

Wills had a nightmare hole and thought he had made eight but a short time later when the dust settled he realised it was actually a nine and immediately disqualified himself from the event.

Mason took the runners up spot on the better back 18 holes and Shaw settled for third.In the nett event, with each player only able to win one prize, Nigel Hodges took the win with a 138 total thanks to a superb nett 66 on day two.

Runner up to him was Steven Eley, who added a 73 to his opening 65, ahead of a consistent Andy Chapple in third with a pair of 70's.

Hatfield's maiden Championship win wasn't without drama either - she maintained her overnight lead and had thought she had triumphed over defending champion Sheila Rouse, but it was then noticed that Rouse had unwittingly forgotten to sign her second round card so she was disqualified.

Debbie Windmill was promoted to the runner up spot and Ladies Captain Annie Williams won the best nett score over the two days.

Results 23.07.14

Midweek Stableford 1, Wayne Barrett 44pts 2, Andy Thomas 40pts 3, Kevin Davies 37pts


Phil Fudge Trophy 1, Dai Wood 68 2, Colin Roberts 69 3, Charlie Hastie 70 26/27.07.14

Club Championship 1, Steve Bateman 158 2, Steve Mason 159 3, Russell Shaw 159 Nett 1, Nigel Hodges 138 2, Steven Eley 138 3, Andy Chapple 140 Ladies