DAVE Porter and namesake Mike Porter were drawn out of the hat when the pairings were established on Friday for the Mike Teal Trophy - and they combined superbly producing a stunning back nine to take the silverware by the narrowest of margins.

No less than five pairs handed in scores of 44 points in the betterball stableford competition, so a detailed countback was required.

Team Porter took the title thanks to their birdie laden homeward run of 26 points, edging Captain Elect Stuart Wills and Dai Wood into second as they 'only' had 24 points on the back nine.

Phil Hodgson and Steve Mason, Club Captain Paul Jones and Stewart Garrett and Tony Roper and Paul McLanaghan were the others to post 44 points but missed out on the countback.

The following day the quest for qualification to the Winter League Final resumed.

With the wind freshening as the day progressed the leading score was returned by early starter Roger Vaughan.

He is usually a good player in windy conditions and he confirmed this with a superb 42 points which was nine better than anyone else could manage.

Runner up was Tony Higgins on 33 after a storming finish to his round whilst Brian Read took third on 32.

Barrie Tucker returned his handicap to single figures as he won the February Seniors Medal last week after being the only player to beat his handicap.

His two under par nett 68 was three clear of the runner up Pete Douglas with Barrie Yearsley rounding out the top three, on what proved to be a good day for the lower handicappers, with his nett 72.

Results 18.02.14 Seniors Medal 1, Barrie Tucker 78-10-68 2, Pete Douglas 82-11-71 3, Barrie Yearsley 82-10-72 22.02.14 Mike Teal Trophy 1, Dave Porter & Mike Porter 44 2, Stuart Wills & Dai Wood 44 3, Phil Hodgson & Steve Mason 44 4, Paul Jones & Stewart Garrett 44 5, Tony Roper & Paul McLanaghan 44 23.02.14 Winter League 1, Roger Vaughan 42 2, Tony Higgins 33 3, Brian Read 32