MEL Brown and Dan Williams teamed up to win the Presidents Day betterball stableford.

They beat over 30 pairs who were competing for the impressive Claret Jug presented in memory of Bert and Marie House.

The duo scored 44 points in some testing conditions as a stiff breeze blew from an unusual direction.

They won by three from a quartet of teams that finished on 41.

Alec Bateman was in superb form as he accumulated 44 points on his way to a comfortable win in the May Stableford.

He carded nothing higher than a bogey in his round and barring a six at the tough par five 12th it was all fives or less!

In Division One Stuart Wills was the top man with a 41 point score which culminated with an eagle three at the final hole.

In Division Three it was early starter Trevor Searle who tasted victory, recording 39 points to end the day one ahead of Dave Morris and Bob Smith.

In the Ladies Bogey Trophy, played last Thursday, Lesley Millard produced a stunning run of six nett birdies in her last eight holes to secure the silverware.

Lyn Bird was again a runner up for the second day running after another solid display saw her finish at level.

Barrie Tucker headed the scorecharts in the May Stableford which attracted the largest entry seen for some time in a Seniors event at Brean.

Well over 40 players took part and Tucker had the best score of the day as he won Division One with 42 points.

Division Two was won by Ken Rouse who returned 40 points, three more than Bob Masterman.

Rouse then continued his good form as he claimed the Wally Pape Bogey Trophy just two days later.