Memorial football match for Burnham legends

First published in Sport

A MEMORIAL football match was played for two Burnham football legends at the weekend.

The John McErlain and John Smith Memorial Shield remembers the two men for all they did to serve local football in the area and to raise thousands of pounds for charity.

The two previous years saw the McErlain XI retain the shield on penalty shoot outs after high scoring draws but it was a one-sided affair this year as the McErlain XI ran out 11-0 winners.

Braces from Sam Ford, Ross McErlain, Jason Kilduff and Tim Piper along with further goals from Steve Osgood, Louis Dean and Kieran Franklin wrapped up the win.

John McErlain squad: Kev Hurd, Sam Ford, Steve Osgood, Chris Kidner, Ryan McErlain, Luke McErlain, Kyle McErlain, Ross McErlain, Kieran Franklin, Shaun Ward, Jason Kilduff, Chris Warner, John Harding, Rich Crook, Tim Piper, Mike Osborne, Will Davies and Louis Dean John Smith squad: Darren Smith, Graham Smith, Stuart Smith, Andy Neilson, Steve Neilson, Mark Neilson, Steve Hendry, Oliver Taylor, Gary Prowse, Don Johnson, Carl Waite, Dan Saunders, Kenny Bishop, Ashley Harrison, Damien Kaye, Andrew Ballard, Matty Kaye, Wayne Croucher, Ed Lamb, Nigel Jones, John Lane, Stuart Walford, Steve Murray, Neville Rouse, Andy Thomas, Ian Spence, Simon Smith, Steve McCann and Lee Roberts.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree