THE wait is almost over for fans of the ‘Cases’ Somerset Rebels as tomorrow night (March 31) will finally see the tapes rise at the Oaktree Arena for the club’s new season, with the first major trophy of 2017 up for grabs.

The new season opens up with the Oaktree Arena hosting the 2017 SGB Premiership Pairs Championship, which brings together the top two available riders from each of the eight teams in this season’s British Speedway Premiership.

It is a line-up to savour, with three of the world’s top 11 competing, namely Chris Holder (King’s Lynn), the 2012 world champion, Jason Doyle (Swindon), who rode for Somerset in 2008 and 2012/13, and Wolverhampton’s Fredrick Lindgren.

The ‘Cases’ Rebels are represented by Rohan Tungate and new signing Patrick Hougaard, who will make his home debut.

Somerset team manager Garry May: “With a major trophy there for the winning, season starts don’t get any more exciting than this.”

“It will be a good test for Rohan and Patrick as we look forward to our first ever season in the top flight of British speedway, and hopefully there will be a good crowd at the Oaktree Arena.”

Gates at the Oaktree Arena open at 6pm, with tapes up on heat 1 at 7.30pm.

Belle Vue: Craig Cook/Max Fricke
Wolverhampton: Fredrik Lindgren/Jacob Thorssell
Somerset: Patrick Hougaard/Rohan Tungate
Swindon: Jason Doyle/Nick Morris
Rye house: Chris Harris/Scott Nicholls
Poole: Krzysztof Kasprzak/Brady Kurtz
Leicester: Kim Nilsson/Danny King
King’s Lynn: Chris Holder/Robert Lambert