STEVE Jones and Phil Cooke produced a storming finish to take the top prize in Brean Golf Club's Presidents Day.

The second staging of the popular event saw the players battling a strong wind blowing across the course giving very little help anywhere plus one heavy rain shower meaning scoring became most difficult.

The ever improving course was again prepared superbly for the competitors by Robin Williams and his team.

Jones and Cooke, who plays at Wedmore, totalled a homeward betterball score of 23 points which crucially gave them the edge over three other pairs - who also returned 38 points.

Second place went to club chairman Tony Roper and his guest Steve Thomas ahead of former Brean Captain Andy Towens and his partner Andy Harriott.

The final 38 point card came from Rob Price and Tony Smith as they collected fourth prize.

Another close finish ensued for the final prize on offer as another three pairings handed in 37 point efforts.

The best of these came from Andy Thomas and his guest for the day Stuart Taylor.

ON Wednesday, the seniors hosted the Minehead Warreners at home for the first of their two annual matches against them.

Brean ended up as convincing winners by 4.5 to 1.5 and no Brean players ended on the losing side as 3 games were halved.

Captain Allen Fellingham singled out George Thomas and Dai Wood as his pair of the day following their 5&4 victory.

Two games in two days it was always going to be a tough ask for the Seniors as they faced up to their counterparts at Woodspring the following day. They ended up going down by the same scoreline 4.5-1.5.

STEVEN Eley has certainly hit the ground running since he joined Brean Golf Club as he chalked up another win in the Super Series Stableford.

41 points was his winning score and he found his handicap reduced by a shot as a result of his success.

He led the rest by two points with Roger Phillips taking second place on countback from Wayne Barrett.

Results 26.04.14 Presidents Day 1, Steve Jones & Phil Cooke 38pts 2, Tony Roper & Steve Thomas 38pts 3, Andy Towens & Andy Harriott 38pts 4, Rob Price & Tony Smith 38pts 5, Andy Thomas & Stuart Taylor 37pts 27.04.14 Super Series 1, Steven Eley 41pts 2, Roger Phillips 39pts 3, Wayne Barrett 39pts