ENMORE Park Ladies played against the Enmore Park Juniors for the Packer Cup on Sunday.

Played in good weather, what is always a competitive golfing occasion ended in a victory for the EPGC Juniors.

Despite this being the first taste of playing in a match for some of the juniors, they played some fantastic shots and all matches were very tight, with the youngsters just winning, all of which bodes well for the future of Enmore Park Golf Club.

The juniors team, captained by Tom Canavan, was - Theo Culverhouse, Will Andrews, Harry Beynon, Matthew Lee, Olivia Lake, Rory Lake, Oscar Hallett and Toby Hallett.

The Ladies team, captained by Sheila Bowden, consisted of Sarah Blake, Lin Brown, Judith Sperring, Linda Moore, Julie Stafford, Anne Elliot Rose, Marylyn Turrell, Anne Perry and Kay Taylor.

Fog cleared just in time at Cricket St Thomas last Thursday for Enmore’s Avalon Seniors semi-final.

Martin Clapp & Paul Martin raced away to a three-hole lead in the first match, only to be dragged back and taste defeat on the 19th hole against Bob Barrow & Roger Stone.

Enmore’s Mike Sullivan & Jeff Saunders were home and hosed in match three by the time team-mates Chris Marsh & Rob Fear closed out their match on the 18th, having never been behind.

With the penultimate match seeing Phil Hodge & Phil Taylor also heading down the 19th, Neil Whisler and Steve Lukins beat Chris Gingell and Mark Cording in the last match on the last green to secure a 3½-1½ win for the visitors and see Enmore through to their third final in three years to defend their title again, this time against Worlebury.

A team from Enmore Park Golf Club won the Pickeridge Bowl at Taunton & Pickeridge Golf Club over the weekend.

They defeated Weston-super-Mare 4.5-0.5 in the final, with the results as follows: Taylor Stote won 3&2; Jack Dray won 2&1; James Popham won 6&4; Ryan Brewer two up with three to play, honourable half with game over; Alex Clapp won 5&3.


THE Brean Treasurer’s Trophy Greensomes event, which had been postponed by rain two weeks ago, was re-arranged for the first Sunday in October and the weather was much improved.

Scoring was pretty good too in the stableford format with 44 points being the winning number.

This card belonged to Jeff Read and Simon Baunton and it saw them home by three clear points.

For Baunton it was his second success in the event after winning back in 2013 and for Read it was worth family bragging rights as he relegated his father into second place!

Read Senior, Brian, was accompanied by Barrie Tucker to 41 points which was matched by Tony Higgins and Trevor Pitt.

Read and Tucker had the better back nine score though to take second spot on countback.

The poor Saturday morning weather decimated the field in the October Stableford and in the end only 12 players braved the elements and tackled the course.

The best scores of the day came from Jason Kidley and Steve Hill with 33 points as they headed the first and second divisions, respectively.

Paul Bacon’s 29 points was good enough to claim the Division 3 honours.

The 2018 inter-club match season ended for the Seniors with a 3.5 to 2.5 win at home to Oake Manor.

This result meant that Chris Stephens’ troops were unbeaten on home soil throughout the season, an achievement they should be proud of.

Captain Stephens was unable to decide on a team of the day so awarded it instead to all 12 players who took part in the final game.

Two days earlier the Seniors Medal was the first contested event of the month of October and only one player beat par with their nett score.

That score came in Division 1 from club champion Ron Edmondson, who scored a nett 68 off his six handicap.

He was one clear of two players who were only separated on a countback.

Pete Dunn was the winner of said countback, preventing an Edmondson 1-2 as he relegated Don into third spot.

Division 2 honours went to George Stratford after his nett 71.

He was two strokes clear of a duo on 73 and after another countback the runners-up spot went to Ian Raymond ahead of Seniors captain-elect Vincent Ford.

Steve Barker was the winner of the Bill Napier Trophy for 2018.

Barker defeated Ian Rogers by a 5&3 scoreline in the final of the summer matchplay knockout competition for Division 3 players.