TWO former Rebels can play their own part in attempting to bring cup glory to the Somerset side this week, as both Charles Wright and Paul Starke return for one night only, writes Stephen Allen.

The Rebels have a total of three riders – Jack Holder, Aaron Summers and Bradley Wilson-Dean – missing for the KO Cup final against King’s Lynn Stars, who finished as Premiership runners-up to Poole Pirates.

Team manager Garry May has booked Starke for the second leg at King’s Lynn tomorrow (Thursday), while Wright, who left the club under a bit of a cloud in June, returns to the Oaktree Arena tonight.

May said: “What happened with Charles earlier this season is now water under the bridge.

“We have both needed to move on from that and I know Charles is keen to do a job for us again.

“He has spoken to me since and even asked me once why I hadn’t asked him back to guest for me.

“It was simply because the numbers wouldn’t allow it, but here we are with a piece of silverware at our fingertips and the opportunity has presented itself for Charles to come in and do a job for us.

“I can’t use him away, but am delighted to have Paul Starke with us on Thursday.

“Both these riders can be meeting changers.”

The Rebels also announced at the end of last week that they had secured Poole’s Chris Harris for both legs, with rider replacement in operation home and away.

Harris, nicknamed ‘Bomber’, ended the Rebels’ league championship aspirations with a breathtaking ride in the final heat of the play-off semi-final at Poole.

May added: “Obviously you would have liked to have your own declared side in action for you every match but sadly, due to injuries and whatnot, speedway doesn’t always work like that.

“But with Starkey and Wrighty back in Rebels clothing again and Bomber too, who I came very close to signing this season, I feel we have the next best.

“Unquestionably [Harris] is one of those riders that you know will give his all to the cause and now he has a chance to do his own mini-double by winning the cup with us to add to his league championship medal.”

Teams: Somerset - Jason Doyle (capt), rider replacement for Aaron Summers, Charles Wright (guest), Richard Lawson, Chris Harris (guest), Jake Allen, Nico Covatti.
King’s Lynn: Robert Lambert (capt), Erik Riss, Ty Proctor, Thomas Jorgensen, Niels-Kristian Iversen, Tero Aarnio (guest), Simon Lambert.