JUST one team will be relegated from Division One of the County Championship next season as a result of changes to the domestic structure.

From 2020, Division One will contain 10 teams and Division Two, from which three teams will be promoted next season, will have eight - a reversal of the current situation. The divisions will then revert to being two up, two down.

Each team will continue to play 14 matches, so every team will not play each other twice in Division One. A seeding system is being explored to optimise fairness.

No overseas players will be eligible to play in the 50-over competition, which will be played alongside the New Competition (perhaps significantly not referred to as 'The 100' in the ECB announcement) from 2020.

There will also be a new round of 50-over fixtures prior to the tournament beginning, with each First-Class county visiting a minor county.

The Vitality Blast format is unchanged.

Wasim Khan, the Leicestershire chief executive who chaired the Men’s Domestic Playing Programme Working Group, said: “It was critical throughout the process to consider a programme that was underpinned by three key principles: supporting sustained success for England teams, maintaining a vibrant domestic game and recognising the importance of red-ball cricket.

"There were a number of areas up for discussion which showed the importance of extensively consulting with all 18 First-Class-Counties in a thorough and impartial process.

"We are very pleased that that there was unanimous support for a structure that will hopefully improve our domestic game and in turn the England teams."