FOLLOWING the Brean Golf Presentation Night on Friday evening, it was time for the 2019 captains to drive in to office on Sunday morning.

First up was ladies captain Lyn Bird, who fired the first tee shot down the right of the fairway into the fog.

Next was seniors captain Vincent Ford, who ended just short of the left-hand bunker, and then club captain Trevor Pitt hit his tee shot past the same bunker into the left-hand rough.

The members had conducted a sweepstake to guess the total yardage, and the winner with the closest guess to the total of 451 was Jerry Brueford, who scooped half the pot, while the other half went to the new captain's charity for 2019 – The British Skin Foundation.

Following the afternoon’s AGM, Mike Carter officially handed over the captain’s jacket to Trevor Pitt.

After the fog finally cleared sufficiently to allow play to start safely, the 23 assembled teams took to the course for the traditional pre-AGM Scramble event.

With both men's and ladies teams taking part, the course was full and the event was reduced to 15 holes to make up the time lost to the weather.

In the ladies event, incoming captain Lyn Bird joined forces with Eileen Parnell and Millie Jones to win with a score of 56.2.

In the men's event, scoring was pretty low, with the honours going to John Cranley alongside the Edmondson twins – Ron and Don – with a nett score of 46.5 over the 15 holes.

Runners-up on 47.8 were Ian Adams, Murray Parsons and Russell Shaw, with outgoing captain Mike Carter leading Matt Shaw and Andy Thomas into third on 48.2.

The final weekend qualifying round for the Winter League was completed on Saturday.

Bob Toller was the victor with a superb 43 points, finishing one clear of Matt Shaw.

Shaw, who opened his round with an eagle two, held a two-point advantage over third-placed Barry Brindley.


THE annual Presentation Night was a well-attended event as always, and was hosted for the first time in the Kestrel Suite of the new Brean Country Club.

The club's success in Avalon League Division 3 and the subsequent Champion of Champions success was celebrated, as was the first Brean win in a long while of the annual Breanbury Niblick.

Along with the trophies a selection of special awards were also handed out.

The first of those was the Clubperson of the Year award, which went to Tony Roper as chairman and seniors secretary.

The Most Improved Player award went to Paul Bacon, who saw a large chunk of his handicap disappear in 2018 as he won four different events.

The Golfer of the Year award was a close-run thing, with five very worthy contenders.

Following the committee vote, it was awarded to Dan Broom, who enjoyed seven wins during the year.

The final awards, as always, went to the respective club champions.

Lyn Bird retained the Ladies Championship she had won in 2017 and will bid for a hat trick in 2019.

Ron Edmondson then took the plaudits from his fellow club members as he collected the Club Championship and also the Seniors Club Championship Trophy he won in 2018.