Somerset Cricket Board Minor Cup final
Huntspill & District 107-2 beat Bishop's Hull 106 by 8 wkts

HUNTSPILL & District produced a dominant performance to carry off the SCB Minor Cup at the Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton, on Sunday.

This was Huntspill’s first win in the competition, after defeat in their only other final in 1991.

Winning the toss, they asked Bishop's Hull to bat and CJ Organ was quickly among the wickets, dismissing Liam Redrup with just nine on the board.

Shaun Lismore and Sam Lillycrop kept a lid on the scoring rate, frustrating the Bishops' top order as they were reduced to 66-5.

Only Josh Chanter stood firm, hitting 43, but when he became a victim of Lismore it was the beginning of the end for the West Somerset League side.

Jacon Tyson (11no) produced a stubborn knock from No 10 but his side were all out for 106 with two balls of the 20 overs remaining.

Huntspill's attack bowled with great control with Lismore, Lillycrop and, latterly, Matt Counsell, taking two wickets apiece in a fine all-round fielding display.

When Huntspill replied, Steve Eley set off like a train, hitting 25 of the first 27 runs.

When he was out, he was soon followed by Lillycrop with the score on 37.

From there on, however, it was plain sailing for Huntspill as Jake Randall and Matt Osmant took on the Bishops' attack.

Osmant was particularly severe, hitting six fours and a six in an unbeaten 47 which lasted just 26 balls.

Randall played something of a watching brief, scoring 19no in 21 balls.

As a result, Huntspill took just 13 overs to reach their target with eight wickets remaining.

It was a proud moment for the club and skipper Matt Counsell as he went up to receive the cup.