LYMPSHAM & Belvedere have been crowned champions of Division 3 in the Monmouth Scientific Somerset League.

In a must-win game on Saturday, they travelled to Chard 2nds and triumphed by six wickets.

After putting the home side in to bat, Andy Taylor struck twice early on to have Chard at 8-2.

This brought in Tom Shire (27) who, with Paul Rideout, added 65 to steady the innings.

Rideout held the innings together as wickets fell but, on 63, he was snapped up by Nathan Hancock off Neil Chadwick.

Paul Grinter came in to carry on the run chase and he helped to see Chard to 178.

Lympsham bowled well throughout, with Andy Taylor, Jon Youngs and Chadwick taking two wickets apiece.

When Lympsham replied, Hancock fell early but Dave Luff (49) and Gabriel Counsell (26) added 77.

It was left to Jack Luff (33no) and skipper Chadwick (13no) to see them home in good time.

The victory ensured Lympsham finished just seven points ahead of Weston at the top.

They will swap places with relegated Burnham, who closed a tough Division 2 season with a two-wicket defeat at Ilminster 2nds.

Put in to bat, Burnham openers Pete Harris (23) and skipper Rob Driver (69) gave them a solid start.

Later contributions from Connor Lefrere (26) and Fred Berry (41) boosted their total to 226-8, despite Alex Pitman taking 5-44.

Ilminster, too, made a solid start but it was always nip and tuck as the home side edged to their target.

The key innings came from Josh House, whose 67 tipped the balance away from Burnham, and Ilminster scrambled home.

Driver (3-30 off 9) and Harris (3-29 off 9) were the pick of the seven bowlers used.

Huntspill & District confirmed their promotion to Division 4 with an 18-run win at home to Yeovil 2nds.

Put in to bat, Huntspill posted 182 all out, with Thomas Garner (41) and CJ Organ (38) top-scoring.

When Yeovil replied, they were restricted to 164-7 after Organ took 3-22 off 9.

Wedmore finished 10 points adrift of Division 5 title rivals Taunton Deane 3rds, after a 17-run defeat at Trull 2nds on Saturday.

Hosts Trull opted to bat first and posted 208 from their 45 overs, largely thanks to 99 from opener Luke Bishop and 31 from No 8 Justin Hayward - despite wickets for Ian Harris (3-45), Sam Blackburn (2-39), Dan Luedicke (1-18), Josh Burgess (1-31) and Bob Burgess (1-43).

Wedmore slipped to 3-2 in a disastrous start to their reply, and although Martyn Boley made 34 and James Dee 40, Hayward (3-40) and Rory Stone (3-18) ushered them out for 191 in 39.1 overs.

Taunton Deane won at Wellington 2nds to clinch the title, but Wedmore finished 15 points clear of Trull in third.

The league structure for the 2020 season is still to be confirmed, but Wedmore should be in Division 4 next year.