BURNHAM-on-Sea Cricket Club traveled to Street for their first and only pre-season game, after falling victim to the weather in previous weeks.

On what was an unsurprisingly bowler friendly wicket, Burnham elected to bowl.

Burnham were in total control throughout the whole innings, with Matt Dibble producing a fine opening spell, going for just two runs from his six overs and picking up one wicket.

Peter Harris also kept things tight, going for just six runs from his five overs, with one wicket.

But the stand out performance was debutant Joe O’Neill who blew away the Street lineup with five wickets for twenty-two runs from his six overs. Street were bowled out for 91.

Brad House made Light-work of the Street bowling attack, making 51 before retiring, with four 4’s and two 6’s.

Matt Dibble featured with the bat as well as the ball, with 37 runs before retiring, Peter Harris finished the game off with 31 not out.

Burnham 1st XI will make the short trip to Weston for their division one opener on Saturday.

During the off season, Burnham updated their honours board from the individual performances last year.

A spokesperson said: "With the 2023 season fast approaching, here is the updated honours boards for hundreds and five-wicket hauls from the last decade.

"2022 was a good year for batting with 9 centuries scored, the most on record. Along with 4 5fers added."

Brad House added four of those centuries himself, with Dave Henderson scoring two, and Phil White, Peter Harris and Rob Driver adding one a piece.

James Lovell, Jordan Margenburg, Rob Driver and Peter Harris all added one fivefer each to the board.

Also in the off season, the club confirmed the positions of the elected officials for 2023.

The 2023 dhairman A Birkett, the president is M Wall and the treasurer is J Bloodworth.

P West has been elected secretary, while A Lee will step into the League Rep/Safeguarding. And the fixture secretary is Brad House.

On the pitch, Brad House has been elected as 1st XI Captain, with M Tirivuru chosen as 2nd XI Captain. House will also lead the T20 XI.